How Do I Delete the Address Bar History in Firefox?

Mozilla Firefox stores your website browsing history by default, displaying it under the address bar as suggestions when you start typing a new address. To protect your privacy, erase the Web browsing history. Note that you can't recover the data after you erase the history. You may still see your bookmarks -- identified by a blue star -- in the list of suggestions after you erase the history; you can delete them later if you wish.

  1. Erasing Individual Websites

    • To delete individual entries from the browsing history, click the Firefox Menu button and then click "History" to display the History pane. Click "Show all history" to display your entire browsing history in the Library window. Type the address into the "Search History" box, right-click the website and choose "Forget About This Site" to erase all traces of the site from the history. To delete bookmarks, select "All Bookmarks" in the left pane, select the bookmarks and then press "Delete." You can also delete entries directly from the address bar; highlight them in the list of suggestions and press "Delete."

    Erasing the Entire History

    • Click the Menu button in Firefox and click "Options" to display the Options window. Select the "Privacy" tab and then click the "Clear your recent history" link. Select "Everything" from the "Time range to clear" to erase everything, select only the "Browsing and Download History" box and then click "Clear Now." To prevent Firefox from remembering your browsing history in the future, select "Never remember history" from the "Firefox will" drop-down box. Close the Options window.

Related Searches

References

You May Also Like

Related Ads

Watch Video

The 2014 Holiday Gadget Roundup