In North Carolina, four tax brackets are used to determine the income tax rates for individuals. People earning higher incomes are taxed at higher rates, though it's frequently possible to save some money by applying tax deductions to your income.
Things You'll Need
- Income tax professional (recommended)
- W-2 statement of employee earnings
Know the North Carolina Tax Brackets
Use the lowest tax rate in the state, 6 percent, if you made approximately $12,800 or less in income that qualifies for taxation.
Know that the majority of North Carolina residents fall into the 7-percent tax bracket, which applies to incomes ranging from approximately $12,800 to $60,000.
Pay the adjusted rate of 7.75 percent if you made approximately $60,000 to $120,000.
Fall into the high tax bracket if you made approximately $120,000 or more last year. Individual incomes at this level are taxed at 8.25 percent.
Figure out Your North Carolina State Income Tax
Add up all the money you made throughout the year, from all sources that count as personal income. This includes not only wages from your job, but also profit from any businesses you operate and any money you made via investing.
Ask a tax professional for help if you want to know more about the tax deductions for which you qualify. Calculate the total of all the deductions you're allowed to subtract from your total income, arriving at your taxable figure.
Find the tax rate that applies to you, and do some simple multiplication to calculate what you owe. As an example, suppose your taxable income for the year totaled $55,000. To calculate your income tax, you would use the percentage rate that applies to the tax bracket you fall within (in this case, 7 percent). Then, using the decimal expression of the percentage rate (in this case, 0.07), punch up the numbers in a calculator.
Tips & Warnings
- An income tax preparation professional can help you understand all the tax deductions for which you qualify. Work with one if personal finance isn't your strong suit.
- Uncle Sam is unkind to those found guilty of tax evasion. Don't risk fines or jail time by cheating on your taxes. It's not worth the relative pittance you'd save in taxes.
How to Calculate Tax Stamps in North Carolina
In North Carolina, when you sell or transfer your property, you will need to pay a real estate excise tax, also known...
How to Calculate Sales Tax
Sales tax is a percentage of the purchase price, so you multiple the price by the tax. Sales taxes include state and...
How to Pay North Carolina State Tax on Social Security
The federal government may tax up to 85 percent of your Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits when you file your federal...
How to Calculate North Carolina State Withholding
North Carolina is one of the many states that require employers to withhold state income tax from employees' paychecks. The North Carolina...
Who Must Pay State Income Tax in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, taxpayers must use Form D-400 to file their state income tax returns. The gross minimum income filing thresholds in...
Capital Gains Tax Laws in North Carolina
North Carolina charges a flat 5.8 percent rate on capital gains as well as wage income. The flat rate greatly simplifies matters...