How to Disable Re-Blogging on Tumblr

Save

If you're not a fan of allowing others to re-blog your posts through Tumblr, you can edit the HTML code for your Tumblr blog and remove the option. The HTML code defines the theme and features on your blog, and you can edit it to customize the look and feel of your blog. Tumblr uses a "Reblog" tag to indicate any content on the blog that has been or can be re-blogged. Remove this tag from your Tumblr blog's HTML code to block any re-blogging from your page.

  • Log in to your Tumblr account with your username and password.

  • Click the gear icon to access your settings, and then select the name of your blog from the list on the left to open the settings for your blog.

  • Click "Customize" in the Theme section, and then click "Edit HTML" in the pane that appears on the left.

  • Press "Ctrl-F," type "Reblog," and then press "Enter."

  • Select and delete the line of HTML code with "Reblog" in it. Remove everything between the tags around the Reblog tag. The opening tag has "<text>", where the text is part of the HTML code, and the closing tag is "</text>" -- the opening and closing tags are identical, except for the "/" in the closing tag. If you don't remove the opening and closing tags -- and everything in between -- surrounding the Reblog tag, some code on the page may not work properly.

  • Continue searching for the Reblog tag and deleting the lines of code until they are all gone. Click the "Update Preview" button at the top of the screen, and then click "Save" when you're done.

Tips & Warnings

  • You can see the Reblog button in the preview pane when editing the HTML. It looks like the repeat symbol on a music player with two arrows pointing back at each other.

References

  • Photo Credit Mario Tama/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!