How to Block People on Facebook

Save

Facebook is the most popular social networking community on the Web, claiming over 500 million active users, according to company estimates. Unfortunately, in such a vast community, you’ll encounter people from time to time that you don’t want contacting you. Facebook gives you the ability to block unwanted contacts via the Facebook messaging system and by other means. To ensure that blocked users cannot circumvent this restriction, the people you block are prevented from viewing your profile and public posts.

  • Sign in to your Facebook account if you aren't already logged in. Open the “Account” menu in the upper right corner of any Facebook page by clicking on the menu button, which is represented by a downward-pointing arrow to the right of the other buttons on your Facebook account toolbar. A small menu will appear, providing access to various account settings as well as options to log out, view help materials and browse Facebook using the identity of any fan or business page you manage.

  • Click the "Privacy Settings" option. You will see several options that allow you to control the privacy on your Facebook profile, including the ability to change the default privacy settings for your posts. Scroll to the bottom of the page. Locate the "Blocked People and Apps" entry and click the "Manage Blocking" link to access your blocked list.

  • Enter the name or email address of the person you want to block in the applicable fields within the Block Users section on the Manage Blocking page. You can enter just the name or the user's email address – you aren’t required to know both. Click the "Block" button, which opens a window that lists every Facebook user matching the name or address you entered. Locate the individual that you want to block and click the "Block" button next to his name.

  • Return to the "Manage Blocking" page if you later decide that you want to unblock someone or you discover that you’ve inadvertently blocked a friend. A list of all blocked users will appear below the Block Users input fields. Click the "Unblock" link next to the user you want to unblock, then click "Confirm" in the dialog window that opens to complete the unblocking process.

Tips & Warnings

  • You can also block someone by viewing his profile and clicking the "Gear" button to access the User Options drop-down menu. Select "Report/Block this Person" from the menu and click on the "Block" option in the popup window that appears.
  • Blocked users cannot view your profile or contact you via Facebook messaging or your wall, but they can still view your scores or statistics and otherwise interact with you in any games that you both have installed. A blocked user can also see your posts and interact with you in public discussions on pages associated with groups to which you both belong.

References

  • Photo Credit John Moore/Getty Images News/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet

Comments

Related Searches

Check It Out

Geek Vs Geek: Robot battles, hoverboard drag race, and more

M
Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!