How to Check for Leechers on a Netgear Router

How to Check for Leechers on a Netgear Router thumbnail
Any device in range can leech off an unprotected network.

Netgear wireless routers, like many others, come without wireless security set up by default. Anyone within range can connect to your Wi-Fi if you haven’t set up wireless security on your Netgear router. If you’re noticing slow performance and suspecting other people are using and leeching off your network, you can check the list of connected devices for leechers. You could also have leechers If you’ve set up wireless security with weak security settings or have given out your wireless passphrase.

Instructions

    • 1

      Type “192.168.1.1” into your Web browser’s address bar and press “Enter” to access your Netgear router’s configuration page.

    • 2

      Type the username “admin” into the Username field and the password “admin” into the Password field, then click “OK” to log in. If you’ve set up a custom password, type it instead. If “admin” doesn’t work and you haven’t set a default password, try “1234” as your password instead.

    • 3

      Click the “Attached Devices” link under "Maintenance" at the left side of the Netgear router’s configuration page.

    • 4

      Read the list of device names in the Attached Devices table. The router displays the name of each device connected to your network, if you see any unfamiliar devices or see a larger amount of devices connected than you have, you have leechers connected to your wireless network.

Tips & Warnings

  • You can kick the leechers off your Wi-Fi network by changing your wireless security settings. Click the “Wireless Security” link under "Setup" on the main menu page to open the security settings page. Click a strong security setting such as “WPA2-PSK” under Security Options. Type a passphrase into the "Passphrase" box and click “Generate” to create a wireless key that you’ll use to connect. If you’ve already set up wireless security, change your passphrase to a new one. Click “Apply” after you’re done. All devices on your network, including your computer, are disconnected after changing this setting. You can reconnect with the new passphrase on each device.

Related Searches

References

  • Photo Credit Creatas Images/Creatas/Getty Images

Related Ads

Featured