What Is the Correct Firing Order for a 1993 Kawasaki Ninja 600?


The 1993 Kawasaki ZX6 Ninja motorcycle has a 600 cc, in-line four-cylinder engine. Many motorcycle enthusiasts perform their own maintenance and repairs to their bikes. Knowing the firing order of the engine is necessary when changing spark plugs, ignition coils or checking and adjusting valves.

Engine Layout and Cylinder Location

  • The ZX6, as with most four-cylinder motorcycle engines, is mounted transversely in the frame. When sitting on the bike, the cylinders are numbered 1-2-3-4 left to right.

Firing Order

  • The firing order is 1-2-4-3. There is no distributor for the engine, as ignition is controlled electronically.

Extra Ignition Information

  • There are only two ignition coils for this engine. Each coil has two spark plug wires. One coil fires cylinders 1 and 4. The other fires cylinders 2 and 3.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit spark plug image by Yali Shi from Fotolia.com
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

How To Travel For Free With Reward Points

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!