NIMS Certification


NIMS, an acronym for National Incident Management System, is a program that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has developed as a training tool. The classes ready participants to help coordinate teams that manage local or regional emergencies.


  • People can take specialized classes in emergency management, as long as they are U.S. citizens. The free classes teach the participants how to better manage responses to serious emergencies. According to Homeland Security, NIMS-certified staff may be required at incidents in order to receive federal emergency funds.


  • The classes are offered online. Once successfully completed, a certificate of completion is issued. According to FEMA, public agencies like fire, law enforcement, utilities and medical providers require specific training programs. The NIMS classes might be required to meet certain job requirements among these workers.

Forward Planning

  • Public agencies must specify what the training requirements are for each departmental role. The NIMS program lays out its offerings in five-year increments, helping departments choose the NIMS classes it will require for its employees to take and successfully pass.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit fire engine image by sonya etchison from
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!