What Are VVS Diamonds?

Diamonds are graded using the four Cs: carat, clarity, cut and color.
Diamonds are graded using the four Cs: carat, clarity, cut and color. (Image: diamonds black 1 image by Renato Francia from Fotolia.com)

Diamonds are graded by the carat weight, the clarity or presence of imperfections, the color and the cut. The Gemological Institute of America has established a clarity grading scale that ranges from flawless to imperfect, with varying degrees in between.

VVS-1 Clarity

VVS stands for "very, very slight" and means that a diamond is very, very slightly "included." A VVS inclusion, or blemish, is only visible to a trained eye under 10 times magnification. VVS-1 clarity indicates that a stone has only a single inclusion. VVS-1 diamonds are slightly less perfect than flawless diamonds and are among the best diamonds available.

VVS-2 Clarity

VVS-2 diamonds are also considered among the best diamonds on the market, but they have more than one internal flaw or blemish. These inclusions are very tiny. Even VVS-2 diamonds are flawless to the naked eye.

Other Clarity Grades

After flawless diamonds and very, very slightly included diamonds, there are two levels of VS, or very slightly included diamonds. VS diamonds also are flawless to the naked eye. Additionally, there are two levels of SI, slightly included diamonds and three levels of I diamonds, or imperfect grade. I grade diamonds have many flaws that are visible to the naked eye.

Related Searches


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

This Is the Beauty Routine of an Ex-Pat in China

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!