Idaho laws grant tenants significant rights in their interactions with landlords. State law gives tenants legal remedies if their landlords fail to maintain the habitability of their residences, for example. However, state law is quite vague regarding tenant privacy rights.
Idaho doesn't impose a cap on how much landlords can request for security deposits. The state does, however, require landlords to return security deposits within 21 days after the tenant moves out of the property. The tenant and landlord can agree to extend that time period to 30 days if they wish. Landlords are allowed to deduct the cost of repairs, unpaid rent and unpaid utility bills. They cannot deduct the cost of normal wear and tear.
Maintenance and Repairs
Landlords are required to ensure the habitability of their rented property. That means supplying adequate weatherproofing, installing smoke detectors, and making sure tenants have access to water and electricity. However, Idaho does not generally allow tenants to withhold or deduct rent if the landlord refuses to make repairs. Instead, tenants may notify their landlords in writing of the need for repairs within a three-day period. If the landlord fails to make the repairs, tenants can seek an injunction in court. The only exception to this rule is smoke detectors; if landlords fail to install them, tenants can do so at their own expense and deduct the cost from the rent.
Notice and Entry
Idaho is one of only a few states with no law regulating when and how a landlord can enter a leased property with or without the tenants permission. As a result, Idaho renters should check their lease agreements for specific language on when landlords can enter the property.
Termination of a lease in Idaho normally requires one month's notice, unless otherwise specified in the lease. For week-to-week leases, however, the notice period is seven days.
If an Idaho landlord wishes to remove a tenant for unpaid rent or most other lease violations, he can issue an unconditional quit notice giving the renters three days to vacate. If the tenants don't leave within that time, the landlord can file for an eviction. If the tenant has engaged in the production, sale or use of a controlled substance. Then, the landlord can begin eviction proceedings immediately.