Do Europeans Need a Visa to Come to the USA?


The U.S. Department of State manages all travel documentation in and out of the country with its Bureau of Consular Affairs. This office is responsible for issuing travel passports to U.S. citizens and also maintains consular offices all over the world to manage travel to the U.S. for citizens of other countries.

Visa Waiver Program

The Consular Affairs office offers the visa waiver program (VWP) to travelers from a select list of European countries who need not obtain a travel visa to enter the U.S. An online, electronic system for travel authorization (ESTA) has been set up to register and grant approval to these special travelers.

List of Countries

The European countries participating in this program are Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.


Citizens and passport-holders of these countries must complete their U.S. visit within 90 days and have an onward or return ticket. Their travel must be for business, pleasure or transit only. Citizens of other European countries must apply for a regular visa depending on their type of visit such as student, business or training.

Related Searches


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

How to Travel For Free With Reward Points

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!