What Is the Rank of a Two-Striper in the Military?


Each branch of the U.S. military employs a rank system that includes a two-stripe insignia. Commissioned and non-commissioned officers both wear insignia that denotes their status, and rank does not denote pay grade.

Air Force

  • The United States Air Force considers a two-striper to be an Airman First Class. Their abbreviation is A1C and their insignia is a chevron with two arced stripes.


  • The Army's two-striper is a corporal. Abbreviated CPL the insignia is two upside down gold V stripes on a green background.


  • The Marines use two green stripes to indicate the rank of corporal, abbreviated CPL. The upside down V stripes are on a red background with crossed rifles underneath.


  • In the Navy, Seaman apprentices wear two angled silver hash marks. A Petty Officer Second Class, PO2, wears an insignia that consists of two red V's on a dark blue background with an eagle above.

Coast Guard

  • Like the Navy, the Coast Guard uses two hash marks to designate apprentice seamen. Petty Officer Second Class, PO2 has an insignia that consists of two red V's on a light blue background with an eagle above.

Related Searches


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!