What Does the Food Pyramid Represent?


The food pyramid visually depicts an ideal diet to maximize your health. It suggests a variety of foods in recommended proportions. Each color in the pyramid represents a different type of food. All allowances vary according to age and gender.

Orange - Grains

  • Orange is the color of pastas, breads, cereals and rices. The guidelines suggest that at least half of the grains be whole grain and that you consume 3 ounces daily.

Green - Vegetables

  • The pyramid suggests 2 to 3 cups of varied vegetables daily for optimal health, recommending more vibrant and dark colored vegetables to maximize nutrients.

Red - Fruits

  • Fruits are another part of a healthy diet. The pyramid suggests two cups of fresh, frozen or canned fruits daily, while cautioning against juices.

Yellow - Fats/oils

  • Oils should be consumed very sparingly, with a focus on those that are liquid at room temperature. No more than 6 to 7 teaspoons of oil should be consumed daily.

Blue - Milk/dairy

  • Dairy products such as cheese, yogurt and milk provide much-needed calcium for strong bones and teeth, but are also a source of fat. Look for low-fat products, consuming no more than 2 to 3 cups of dairy daily.

Purple - Meats/proteins

  • Purple represents the protein element of the pyramid. This includes foods such a fish, meat, legumes, and eggs. No more than 6 ounces should be consumed daily.

Related Searches

Promoted By Zergnet



You May Also Like

  • Basic Food Group Pyramid

    The basic food group pyramid includes foods the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) deems necessary for healthy eating. USDA developed the...

  • What Is MyPlate & How Is It Used?

    Developed and maintained by the USDA Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotion, MyPlate replaced MyPyramid in 2011 as the updated and research-based...

  • Food Pyramid for Kids

    The standard food pyramid, drafted by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), helps both kids and adults make smart nutritional choices....

Related Searches

Check It Out

This Is the Beauty Routine of a Yelp Sales Manager

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!