What Does a Balanced Diet Consist Of?


A balanced diet is essential for a healthy lifestyle. To achieve a balanced diet, you must eat from each of the food groups contained in the USDA food pyramid. Each of the recommendations below is based on adults consuming a 2,000 calorie per day diet.

Vegetable Group

Aim for 2.5 cups of vegetables daily. Try to vary the types of vegetables you eat. If you don't like eating vegetables, products that contain 100-percent vegetable juice count towards this goal.

Fruit Group

Try to consume 2 cups of fruit per day. This can also come from products that contain 100-percent fruit juice.

Grain Group

The USDA recommends consuming 6 oz. of grains daily. At least 3 oz. should come from whole grain products like whole wheat breads and pasta, brown rice and oatmeal.

Milk Group

The calcium in milk is an essential part of a balanced diet. Dairy products like cheese and yogurt also count towards the milk goal. Aim for 3 cups of milk or other dairy products daily.

Meat and Bean Group

The meat and beans group also includes fish, nuts and seeds. Try to eat a combination of each of these foods throughout the week. Strive for 5.5 oz. daily from the meat and beans category.

Oil Group

Oils play an important role in the food pyramid because they allow us to consume unsaturated, or healthy, fat. The USDA recommends 6 tsp. of oil daily. There are also certain foods that count towards your oil goal such as almonds, salmon and avocados.

Related Searches


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

This Is the Beauty Routine of a Yelp Sales Manager

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!