Marksman Badge Requirements for the Army


One of the critical skills for soldiers is the ability to shoot at least one type of weapon proficiently. The Army awards marksmanship badges to individuals who qualify with one or more weapons. Soldiers earn bars to place on the badge for each weapon with which they qualify, including rifle, pistol, machine gun, grenade, rocket launcher and missile.

Badge Qualification Levels

  • Soldiers can earn one of three levels of marksmanship badge based on qualification scores. The basic marksmanship badge indicates the lowest level of qualification, followed by the sharpshooter badge. The expert level badge is the highest marksmanship badge offered. If a soldier's score drops on a future qualification course, he will lose his marksmanship badge.

Qualification Scoring

  • Soldiers are scored based on the number of targets hit during a qualification course. The specific qualification course varies by weapon. For example, in the Combat Pistol Qualification, soldiers must shoot pop-up targets at a distance of 10 to 31 meters. He will engage targets from a standing position and while moving forward through the course. The rifle 25-meter scaled target alternate course requires soldiers to engage a total of 25 silhouette targets from prone and kneeling positions. Soldiers receive 40 rounds of ammunition and score one or two hits per target. Shooters who achieve 23 to 29 hits earn the marksmanship badge, while 30 to 35 hits earn the shooter a sharpshooter badge. Expert level badges are awarded to shooters who hit 36 to 40 targets.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit agaliza/iStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!