Florida law requires any vehicle that has a Florida tag to have insurance. Florida's Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your driving privilege, your tag and registration for up to three years, or until you provide proof of insurance.
Personal Injury (PIP) and Property Damage (PDL)
Florida requires a minimum of $10,000 for PIP and $10,000 for PDL as long as you have a valid tag.
A licensed agent within the state of Florida must insure all vehicles that have a Florida tag.
If caught driving with a suspended license, Florida charges a reinstatement fee of $150 for first-time offenders as of September 2009, and you must submit proof of insurance to get back your driving privilege and tags. Further offenses are $500.
Any vehicle that has a Florida tag, including vehicles in storage for part-time residents, business owners or military personnel, must maintain insurance coverage, including if the vehicle is not being driven.
You must surrender your tag and registration before canceling an insurance policy. If you have a suspended license, your tag will be suspended and you are not eligible for a Florida tag for business, employment or any other reason.
State of Florida Tag Laws
State of Florida Tag Laws. All vehicles operating on Florida roadways must be registered in the county in which the driver lives...
How do I Calculate a Tax, Tag & Title in Florida?
The state of Florida charges several fees and taxes on any car that is purchased in the state. You'll need to pay...