Driving without a license is a serious offense in Maine and is listed as a Class E crime. This means you could face a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail. Depending on the circumstances, you may escape with just a small fine or you could be facing maximum fines and jail time.
When You Forgot Your License
If you have an up-to-date license but forgot to bring it with you in the car, you can avoid paying any fines once you present your license. Just check the box to contest your ticket and return it to the Violations Bureau within 20 days. You will be sent a court date. Bring evidence that you possessed a license at the time of the ticket and, depending on the county, you may have the opportunity to discuss your case with the District Attorney before going to trial. You can show your evidence to the DA and ask for the charges to be dropped. If you don't meet with the DA, present your evidence and explanation to the judge and ask for the charges to be dropped.
When You Have No License
If you let your license expire or never had one, you may pay a fine of up to $250. Driving with a suspended, cancelled or revoked license is the most serious offense. You face a $250 fine the first time you're caught and a $500 fine for every offense after that. If you lost your license due to Driving Under the Influence, you will have to pay a minimum fine of $600 and serve at least a week in jail.
Moving to Maine
If you've lived in Maine for more than 30 days but fewer than 90 days, you will be issued a traffic citation if you drive without a Maine state license. People who have resided in Maine for more than 90 days are treated like any other Maine resident if they are caught driving with an out-of-state license. This is a Class E crime.
- Maine Revised Statutes: Title 29-A Motor Vehicles
- DrivingLaws.org: Driving Without a License in Maine
- William T Bly - Maine Criminal Defense Attorney: Driving Without a License in Maine
- State of Maine Judicial Branch: Contested Violations
- State of Maine Judicial Branch: Traffic Court/Moving Violations
- Photo Credit bluegame/iStock/Getty Images
Penalty for Driving Without a License in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania requires all drivers to be licensed and anyone caught driving without a valid license faces fines, points against their driving record...
Penalty for Driving With Expired License
It is illegal to drive with a suspended or revoked license, without a license or with an expired license. Driving with an...
Penalties for Teens Driving Without a License in Arizona
Driving an automobile has long been considered to be a privilege granted by the state governments and not a right of American...
Michigan Penalty for Driving with an Expired License
Michigan classifies its driving or license-related offenses into two categories. Category one offenses include reckless driving or speeding with penalties based on...
Penalty for Driving Without a License in Nevada
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles imposes that for anyone convicted of traffic violations and other offenses listed under license suspensions and...
New Hampshire Law for Driving Without a License
New Hampshire Law for Driving Without a License. In New Hampshire, driving without a valid driver's license is illegal. New Hampshire --...
Driving Without a License vs. Suspended License
Each state treats driving without a license and driving with a suspended license differently, with the severity of each offense depending on...
Colorado State Laws & Punishment on Driving Without a License
Colorado State Laws & Punishment on Driving Without a License. Driving without a license is a violation of Colorado's Revised Statute 42-2-138,...
Criminal Speeding Laws in Maine
Criminal speeding is a Class E crime in Maine. truck speeding down the street image by Larry Roberg from Fotolia.com
Penalty for an Expired License in Florida
The state of Florida sends a driver's license renewal application to registered drivers starting at 45 days prior to the license expiration...
Penalty for Driving Without a License in the Philippines
Driving without a license in the Philippines is considered a minor traffic violation. The penalties for driving without a license depend on...