Poodle Vs. Miniature Poodle


There are three types of poodles that are recognized by the American Kennel Club (AKC): Miniature, toy and standard. All three are considered the same breed but are named and classified according to their size.

Size Identification

  • Toy poodles are smaller than 10 inches at the shoulder. Miniature poodles are more than 10 inches up to 15 inches. And standard poodles are more than 15 inches at the shoulder.


  • The breed standard for all three types of poodles is the same, including disposition, type, expression and proportion. The only differentiating factor among the types is size.


  • According to Iams, the miniature and toy poodles were bred down from the larger size standard poodles. The breed was descended from German water retrievers and was a royal companion in the 18th century.


  • Poodles are alert, active and sensitive dogs. According to the American Kennel Club standards, poodles should be proud and intelligent.


  • The AKC states the only acceptable colors for poodles are blue, gray, silver, brown, cafe-au-lait, apricot and cream.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit Flickr.com
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Toy Poodle Vs. Miniature Schnauzer

    Toy poodles and miniature schnauzers have many similarities. Both are small dogs that are adaptable to various living arrangements. They are both...

  • The Temperament of a Miniature Poodle

    A miniature poodle, also known as Barbone or Caniche, is a very popular dog breed. It’s important to understand its temperament if...

  • Shih Tzu vs. Poodle

    The American Kennel Club recognizes more than 160 breeds of dogs, including the Shih Tzu and poodle. According to the AKC, both...

  • The Differences in a Toy Poodle and a Mini Poodle

    The poodle is a popular purebred dog breed that is recognized by the American Kennel Club. In 2010, according to AKC registration...

  • What Is a Phantom Poodle?

    A phantom poodle is not a frightening poltergeist or a new or rare breed. A phantom poodle is the same intelligent, lovable...

Related Searches

Check It Out

How to Make an Elevated Dog Feeder

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!