What are the Different Classes of a CDL?


A CDL, or Commercial Driver's License, is required in the United States to legally drive certain types of large commercial vehicles, particularly buses and tractor-trailers. There are three classes of CDLs in the U.S.: class A, class B, and class C. What determines which class a driver needs depends on the type of vehicle he or she will be driving and the combined weight of the vehicle and its maximum cargo. Another important factor in determining which CDL is needed is how many passengers will be in the vehicle.

Class A

  • A Class A CDL is needed to drive any motor vehicle that has a gross weight of more than 26,000 lbs. with a towed vehicle of 10,000 lbs. or more.

Class B

  • A Class B CDL is required to drive a motor vehicle with a gross weight of more than 26,000 lbs. and will tow another vehicle, such as a trailer, that does not weigh more than 10,000 lbs.

Class C

  • A Class C CDL is needed for single or combination vehicles designed to hold 16 or more passengers (including the driver) or a relatively small vehicle that is hauling hazardous materials.

Class A Covers All

  • Any driver who has a class A CDL can drive a class B or class C vehicle, and a person who has a class B CDL can drive a class B or class C vehicle.


  • Those carrying passengers will need a passenger endorsement added to their CDL. Drivers hauling hazardous materials will need a CDL, either A or B. The hazardous materials endorsement is not a must when applying for a driving position but will improve the chances of being hired. Certain companies that haul hazardous materials will specify that they need this type of endorsement. To drive an interstate and intrastate commercial vehicle (semi truck), drivers will need a class A CDL depending on the vehicle's rating. Over-the-road drivers will more than likely need a class A CDL.

    Limo and hotel shuttle van drivers do not need a CDL in most states, but it looks very good to the companies hiring if they have some kind of CDL with a passenger endorsement.

CDL Testing Information

  • To become a Class A driver, potential employees will need to pass a written and driver examination at their DMV. Most drivers will go to a driving school because the examination is not an easy one. There are community colleges that offer CDL classes. Those schools also provide curriculum for people who need a passenger endorsement.

    Class B drivers can take a written test at the DMV to obtain their CDL. Hearing and visual tests are also required in order to get a class B. Those drivers must already hold a Class C license.

    To get a class C, an interested applicant must pass a vision and knowledge test.

Related Searches


Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • What Is a CDL Class B?

    In the United States, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) requires individuals who operate commercial motor vehicles (CMV) to possess a Commercial Drivers...

  • What Is a CDL License?

    A Commercial Driver's License (CDL) is required for drivers who operate vehicles classified as Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMVs). CMVs are generally larger...

  • What Is the Difference Between a CDL A & a CDL B?

    In every state in the United States, drivers who operate certain types of vehicles must obtain special licenses. Among these licenses are...

  • How to Change From Class B to Class A CDL

    A CDL, or a commercial driver license, comes in three different classes, Class A, B, and C. The classes are defined by...

  • CDL A Versus CDL B

    A commercial driver's license (CDL) is required to drive commercial vehicles. The primary difference between a CDL A and a CDL B...

  • Types of Freight Trailers

    If you are contemplating earning a commercial driver's License in order to become a truck driver, there are several factors to consider,...

  • What Types of Vehicles Need a CDL Licenses?

    Drivers are required by federal law to obtain and keep on their persons a commercial driver's license (CDL) when operating commercial motor...

  • Types of CDL Licenses

    The USDOT provides three types of Commercial Drivers License for commercial truck drivers. These licenses are further qualified by six endorsements that...

  • What Are the Differences Between a CDL and Non-CDL?

    A commercial driver's license or CDL and non-CDL licenses are for operating vehicles in the United States. In order to receive either...

  • What Types of Trucks Require a CDL?

    Certain large, heavy vehicles can only legally be operated by individuals who possess a commercial drivers license. Different types of vehicles fall...

Related Searches

Check It Out

How to Travel For Free With Reward Points

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!