Which States Are No-Fault Divorce States?


A no-fault divorce allows a couple to divorce without either spouse having to prove the other engaged in misconduct. All states allow no-fault divorces, with some requiring a specified number of months of separation before the divorce is officially granted.


  • To obtain a no-fault divorce, one spouse must declare a reason for the divorce that is recognized by the respective state. In most states, a spouse will declare the couple is no longer compatible.


  • The charge that the couple is no longer compatible is known in various legal terms as "incompatibility," "irreconcilable differences" or "irremediable breakdown of the marriage."


  • In certain states, the couple must live apart for a period of months or years before they can obtain a no-fault divorce. Vermont and the District of Columbia require a six-month separation, whereas Rhode Island, Texas and Utah require a three-year separation.


  • A fault divorce can be granted when the required justifications are present. The traditional fault justifications are cruelty, adultery, desertion for a specified length of time, confinement in prison for a set number of years and physical inability to engage in sexual intercourse (if it was not disclosed before marriage).


  • Some individuals choose a fault divorce because they do not want to go through the period of separation required by certain state law for a no-fault divorce.


  • Photo Credit Flickr.com
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • No Fault Divorce Laws in Mississippi

    Divorce law in Mississippi is somewhat unique in comparison to other states in the country. Mississippi lays out a list of specific...

  • A List of No-Fault Insurance States

    No-fault auto insurance refers to a system of insurance adopted by some states in which drivers are compensated for their injuries by...

  • Tennessee Laws on No-Fault Divorce

    Tennessee, like every other state in the Union except New York, allows married persons seeking divorce to file a no-fault petition. No-fault...

  • Washington State No-Fault Divorce Laws

    Washington state no-fault divorce laws set forth the procedures utilized for all divorce cases in the state. Washington law only permits no-fault...

  • Illinois No-Fault Divorce Laws

    Like many other states, Illinois recognizes the right of married couples to file for a no-fault divorce. In Illinois, any couple filing...

  • Virginia No-Fault Divorce Laws

    Many states no longer require that a spouse filing for divorce include grounds or reasons for wanting the divorce. Virginia is one...

Related Searches

Read Article

Are You Really Getting A Deal From Discount Stores?

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!