Rules for driving with a learner's permit vary by state, but some of these rules are common among many states. Anyone driving with a learner's permit must obey not only the rules of his home state, but any other state he drives in as well. This is a particular concern in regard to age restrictions.
The minimum age a person can obtain a learner's permit is as low as 14 in some states and as high as 16 in others.
Accompanying Driver Age
A person driving with a learner's permit must have an accompanying licensed driver in the vehicle, and usually that driver must be at least 21, although some states specify as high an age as 25.
Accompanying Driver License
This accompanying driver usually also must have held a driver's license for over 3 years.
Some states, or regions in states, do not allow a person with a learner's permit to drive during certain hours at night, for instance from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Some rules are a bit complex. For example, a rule might state that the person driving with a learner's permit cannot have more than 2 passengers under the age of 21 unless they are part of the immediate family, or the accompanying driver is a parent or driver education teacher.
Minors, or people under 18, usually must hold the learner's permit for 6 months before being allowed to obtain a driver's license. Adult learners usually only must hold it for a month or less.
Driving Permit Rules & Regulations
A driving permit allows you to master driving skills so you can pass a driving test and obtain your driver's license. Because...
Driving Permit Rules in California
Under California's Department of Motor Vehicles' graduated drivers license system, drivers obtain permits and receive supervised training before receiving their ...
California Driving Laws With a Permit
Driving Permit Rules in California; How to Get Your Learner's Permit in California; California Driving License Rules for Those Under 18; Comments...
Permit Rules for Driving in Ohio
Driving in Ohio is a privilege, not a right, and teenagers must show their responsibility and maturity before they earn a driver's...
What Are the Rules for a Motorcycle Learners Permit?
Rules For Driving With a Learner's Permit; Comments You May Also Like. Requirements for a California Learner's Permit. Requirements for a California...
How to Get a Learners Permit in Texas
How to Get a Learner's Permit in Georgia; Driving Permit Requirements in Texas; Child Front Seat Laws in Texas; Getting a Learner's...
Colorado Driving Permit Laws
California Driving Laws With a Permit; Student Driving & Permit Rules in the Philippines; Colorado Driving Laws for Under 18; Colorado State...