Anticoagulant Nurse Certification


The Certified Anticoagulation Care Provider (CACP), which is offered through the National Certification Board for Anticoagulation (NCBAP), is awarded to nurses and other medical professionals who meet the minimum eligibility requirements for the certificate. Candidates for the certificate must submit an application with the $400 fee, then once deemed eligible, pass a test demonstrating their knowledge in the field.


  • According to the NCBAP, there are a few reasons to attain certification in anticoagulation. First, the CACP distinguishes you as someone who is knowledgeable and practiced in anticoagulation which can make you more marketable. Second, it encourages you to stay in current and helps with individual growth in the field of anticoagulation. Lastly, it is nationally recognized, which makes you a prime candidate for positions requiring expertise in anticoagulation. Overall, receiving the CACP credential is beneficial to your professional career.


  • To be eligible for the CACP, you must meet both professional qualifications and experience requirements. Professionally, you must be a registered nurse (RN) and have held your license for minimally 2 years as of April 2010. You could also be an Advance Practice Nurse (NP), registered/pharmacist, licensed physician, or a physician assistant. In terms of experience, you must have practices at least 750 hours of "active anticoagulation patient management" according to the NCBAP.

Registered Nurse

  • To become a registered nurse, there are a couple of criteria that you must meet. First you must complete a nursing program. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, your choice of nursing program may be a Bachelor of Science in nursing (BSN), an associate degree in nursing (ADN), or a diploma program that is offered through a hospital. After completing one of these programs, you must take and pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN).


  • As of April 2010, the test for the CACP is 2 ½ hours long and is composed of 160 multiple choice questions (10 of which aren't scored). According to the NCBAP, the test covers 5 main areas: applied pathophysiology of thromboembolic disease, patient assessment and management, patient education, applied pharmacology of anithrombotic agents, and operational procedures. To pass the test, you must answer 120 questions correctly.


  • Once you have attained your certification, you must apply for recertification every 5 years to stay current. According to the NCBAP, this should be done minimally 10 weeks before your certification expires. The recertification process includes submitting another application and taking another test. The eligibility requirements for recertification are the same as those seeking initial certification as of April 2010.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit nurse image by Vasiliy Koval from
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Nursing Diagnosis for Thrombocytopenia

    Thrombocytopenia is diagnosed when platelet counts fall under 100,000 per milliliter of blood. This condition can also result in spontaneous hemorrhage if...

  • Nursing Bulletin Board Ideas

    Nurses will never have a shortage of topics for bulletin boards because their field is ever changing. Not only do techniques change...

  • Treatment Nurse Description

    A treatment nurse provides essential care to wounded or burn patients in a hospital or healthcare facility and performs day-to-day duties in...

  • How to Study for the CPA exam

    There are four parts to a CPA exam, FARE, Auditing, Tax/Governmental, and Business Law. All four must be passed to become a...

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!