AHIMA Certification


If you are pursuing a career in health information management, coding, health data analysis or health care privacy and security, you may want to consider a certification program from the American Health Information Management Association. This professional association offer various certifications in the field. The programs are overseen by a commission of people who hold AHIMA credentials.

Certification Basics

  • The AHIMA offers seven certification options: registered health information administrator (RHIA); registered health information technician (RHIT); certified coding associate (CCA); certified coding specialist (CCS); certified coding specialist-physician based (CCS-P); certified health data analyst (CHDA); and certified in healthcare privacy and security (CHPS). Each certification program has different eligibility requirements and its own examination that candidates must pass to receive the credential. In addition, each require recertification to maintain the credential.


  • The AHIMA lists a number of reasons why certification may be beneficial for health information professionals. Most of these deal with how the job market views certified employees. Certification may make you a better candidate for employment, increase your salary potential, and help you advance in your career, according to the AHIMA. Lastly, certification opens you up to AHIMA's network of peers.

Certification Commission

  • Though AHIMA is the main face of the certification programs, the Commission on Certification for Health Informatics and Information Management plays a huge role in ensuring that the certification programs are well run. The people on the commission must have an AHIMA certification, and are subject to the same standards as certification candidates. Therefore, in "establishing, implementing and enforcing" the AHIMA certification standards, the commission's members have firsthand experience in the process.


  • All of the certification examinations are based on analysis of the functions of the various health information jobs. For example, the exams for coding specialists are based on the requirements of medical coding jobs. In general, knowledge areas that are predominantly used on the job receive more exam questions than those that are used less frequently.


  • Fees for the certification exams vary by test and your membership status to the AHIMA. As of May 2010, the least expensive fee was for the CCA credential, which cost $199 for AHIMA members and $299 for non-members. The highest fees in May 2010 were for the CCS and the CCS-P certifications, at $299 for members and $399 for non-members.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit businessman on phone image by Bionic Media from Fotolia.com
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • What Is AAPC Certification?

    The American Academy of Professional Coders, or AAPC, is one of two leading certifying bodies for medical billing and coding practices. According...

  • What Is RHIT Certification?

    Keeping track of a patient's medical information is an important aspect of providing optimal healthcare, especially for patients with considerable or complicated...

  • How to Verify an RHIT License

    The Registered Health Information Technician certification, known as RHIT, from the American Health Information Management Association, or AHIMA, indicates that health information...

  • How to Study for a CCS Coding Test

    Hospitals and doctors hire medical coders to do coding work for insurance reimbursement. Coding specialists need substantial skills to ensure that hospitals...

  • What Training Do I Need to Be a Medical Records Clerk?

    By ensuring that a patient's records are complete and accurate, medical records clerks are indispensable members of a patient's health team. In...

  • NHA Certifications vs. AAPC Certifications

    Many careers in the health care industry involve highly technical, hands-on work that requires specialized training. A wide range of professional certification...

  • Difference Between AHIMA & AAPC Certifications

    Both the American Health Information Management Association, or AHIMA, and the American Academy of Professional Coders, or AAPC, provide education, student training,...

  • Types of Medical Coding Certificates

    Medical coding involves the maintenance of medical records using computerized health information management (HIM) systems and a standardized system of codes. Obviously,...

Related Searches

Check It Out

3 Day-to-Night Outfits for the Work Week

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!