The state of California requires a license to fish in California's oceans or rivers. People who want to fish for only one day can buy a license for a day at a time, although the state also offers two-day, 10-day and yearlong fishing passes. Day passes allow anglers to catch most types of fish in most places throughout the state, although some fish and fishing spots require extra stamps or report cards.
Fishing license requirements help prevent overfishing in California's rivers and the ocean. When it costs money to be able to fish legally, fewer people end up doing it, which protects fish populations.
The money the state raises from fishing licenses goes toward state parks and efforts to protect fish populations, like fish hatcheries and stocked lakes and streams.
Once a resident or nonresident purchases a day fishing license, the Department of Fish and Game allows him or her to take mollusks, fish, crustaceans, invertebrates, amphibians and reptiles from California's rivers, lakes, ponds, streams and ocean. Some types of fish, usually ones that are at risk of becoming endangered, require an extra report card beyond a day license to fish for, including salmon, lobster and steelhead.
The Department of Fish and Game requires anyone fishing to have his or her license within their immediate possession. People who are fishing while diving can have their license on the boat they are diving from or within 500 meters from the water's shoreline.
The Department of Fish and Game decided to charge $13.40 for a one-day fishing license in 2010. The license cost could go up or down in future years.
The state fines people caught fishing without a license. The fine is usually $250, although individuals caught trying to catch sturgeon or other restricted fish may face much higher fines, such as fines of up to $15,000 for sturgeon poaching.
- Photo Credit fishing image by Julie Balderston from Fotolia.com
California Fishing License Fees
Whether you're a resident or nonresident, recreational or commercial, anyone wishing to fish in California's waters will most likely need a license....
California Department of Fish & Game Fishing License Information
Nothing ruins a fishing trip faster than a hefty fine from the Department of Fish and Game (DFG). The California DFG plays...
Regulations on Rock Crab Fishing in California
Rock crabs can be found throughout California's 840-mile coastline. There are three species--the yellow, brown and red rock crabs, with the brown...