Construction Lumber Grading Standards


Construction-grade lumber usually comes from softwood trees, often fir or pIne. Softwood lumber comes in one of three general grade types--stress-graded, non-stress-graded and appearance. Most lumber sold in yards or large home-improvement centers is visually stress-graded lumber, which comes in five classes, with 13 sub-classes. Only one sub-class has the grade name "construction," but all 13 of these stress-graded lumber grades have construction applications.

Who Decides the Rules for Grading Lumber?

  • The U. S. Department of Commerce has stipulated that a National Grading Rule Committee composed of professionals in lumber technology shall establish grade descriptions for dimensional lumber. The Commerce Department reviews and approves these descriptions. Other lumber associations have also established grading rules.

The Five Classes of Stress-Graded Lumber

  • The five classes of stress-graded lumber are light framing, structural light framing, structural joists and planks, and appearance. Appearance-class stress-graded lumber shares a name with non-stress-graded lumber, but has different properties.

How is Lumber Classified?

  • A qualified lumber grader takes a look at a piece of lumber and estimates its bending strength from its appearance. The decision relies on a visual assessment, but the classification rates bending strength.

Light Framing-Grade Lumber

  • Most wood sold in lumberyards falls within the light framing classification in one of three grades: construction-grade, with 34 percent bending strength; standard-grade, with 19 percent bending strength; and utility-grade, with 9 percent bending strength. Construction-grade and standard-grade lumber are safe for residential building. Utility-grade lumber has less than 1/3 the bending strength of construction-grade lumber; also, yards often sell it wet, which means it will warp as it dries.

Structural Light Framing Grade Lumber

  • Structural light framing-grade lumber comes in four sub-grades, in descending order of bending strength: Select structural (67 percent), usually called "select" by lumbermen; 1 (55 percent); 2 (45 percent); and 3 (26 percent). Those without special construction needs beyond normal balloon-frame construction (wood studs on 16-inch centers) won't need select structural-grade; some builders use it where it will show because it has few knots, a straight grain and looks good.

Studs Grade and Structural Joists and Planks Grade

  • Structural joists and planks grade has four grades with names and bending strengths almost identical to the four grades of structural light framing grade, but comes only in larger dimensions. Studs, the classification, has one grade, stud grade, with a bending strength of 26 percent. Similar to standard-grade, with slightly greater bending strength, it often comes precut to exactly 92 1/4 inches. Add a floor plate and a top plate and the height totals exactly 96 inches, the height of an 8-foot stud wall.

Another Grading Criterion

  • Construction lumber comes graded either S-GRN, with more than 19 percent water by weight--green lumber, in other words--or S-DRY, with less than 19 percent moisture. Experienced builders can sometimes get away with using the cheaper S-GRN lumber by putting it up almost immediately before it dries and warps--once locked into a stud wall or other structure, it can only warp so much. But most will pay a little more and get S-DRY grade.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit Huntstock/DisabilityImages/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet



  • "Selecting Lumber: Building Research Council;" C S. Walters; 1971

You May Also Like

  • About Lumber Types & Grades

    Lumber types and grades provide information meant to identify the quality of a piece of lumber. Specific rules have been established in...

  • The Best Type of Lumber for Framing

    Learn about framing lumber, types and applications. Information regarding grade stamps and quality of common studs.

  • Different Grades of Pine Lumber

    While seven different organizations in North America regulate the classification of pine lumber, all operate voluntarily under the direction of the American...

  • Structural Plywood Vs. Exterior Plywood

    Plywood is a durable and economical alternative to solid wood. Its uses include anything from outside walls and structures to aircraft fuselages...

  • Types of Woods Used in Framing

    Different areas of a residential construction require different types of wood. Local and regional building codes vary but, loads, vertical strength and...

  • Southern Yellow Pine Grading Rules

    Southern Yellow Pine is widely used in construction in the United States. The grading of Southern Yellow Pine, along with other southern...

Related Searches

Check It Out

22 DIY Ways to Update Your Home on a Small Budget

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!