Fire and Water Astrological Signs


Like feng shui, acupuncture and ayurveda, astrology has a long history and a fluctuating degree of relevance in the popular mind. Since interest in astrology never seems to disappear, it pays to have some familiarity with astrological terminology, and appreciating the significance of fire and water signs is a good starting point.

The Zodiac -- A Quick Explanation

  • An astrological horoscope is a representation of the sky at a given point in time, pinpointing the positions of the sun, moon and planets. The 360-degree celestial sphere is divided into 12 signs, each with its ruling element and animal or person. This representation, called the zodiac, dates to ancient Egypt. The four elements of the zodiac are air, earth, fire and water, and because there are four of them, three signs are associated with each element. For each element, there is one cardinal, one fixed and one mutable sign.

The Fire and Water Signs

  • The three fire signs are Aries the Ram, Leo the lion and Sagittarius the Archer; while the water signs are Cancer the Crab, Scorpio the Scorpion and Pisces the Fish. The personality traits associated with the fire signs are impulsiveness, quick emotional responses and imagination. People with a predominance of fire in their birth charts are said to be outgoing and enthusiastic. Water signs are associated with deep sensitivity. People with a predominance of water in their birth charts are said to have deep and rich emotional lives.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit pixelparticle/iStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

Related Searches

Check It Out

How to Build and Grow a Salad Garden On Your Balcony

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!