Choosing to follow a gluten-free diet requires you to make considerable adjustments to avoid gluten, which is a protein found in many types of grain. If you enjoy sprinkling vinegar over your french fries or on salads, doing so requires that you carefully check the label of the vinegar you use.
Not All Vinegar is Safe
Regular distilled vinegar doesn't contain gluten, according to "Gluten-Free Living" magazine. Not all types of vinegar, however, are devoid of gluten. The magazine warns that malt vinegar, which is notable for its brown color, uses barley in the malting process.
- Photo Credit emregologlu/iStock/Getty Images
What Are the Benefits of Red Vinegar?
Red vinegar is a versatile staple that no well-stocked pantry should be without. It adds distinctive zest to a favorite recipe and...
A List of Grains That Are Gluten-Free
Whole grains are an excellent source of energy and fiber, but those who are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease or...
Understanding What Gluten Is
Gluten is an amino acid, a protein that comes in various grains and creates inflammation in the intestines. Avoid autoimmune diseases by...
Apple Cider Beef Stew Recipe
Apple cider beef stew is a great variation to a traditional beef stew recipe. Make this delicious apple cider beef stew with...
Homemade Weed Killer That Does Not Kill Grass
Many commercial weed killers contain chemicals that not only kill the weeds, but the grass as well. Another problem is they can...