What Is the Order of Belts for Karate?


The belt system in karate, which dates to the late 19th century, features a succession of nine different colored belts. The belts, in order of attainment, are white, yellow, orange, green, blue, purple, brown and black. Previously, karate practitioners dyed their belt the appropriate new color when they gained a new rank, according to the World Martial Arts Center. Today, karate students receive a completely new belt in the appropriate color when they rise to a new level.


  • The white belt denotes a beginner. In order to attain subsequent belts, karate participants must pass a grading examination. This varies by belt level, growing increasingly more demanding, but tests generally cover proficiency, technique, consistency of training and demonstrated progress, according to Dynamic Karate. The applicant is expected to demonstrate a higher level of technique and knowledge in the areas of basics, form and sparring. Karate students must receive the approval or recommendation of an instructor before advancing to a new level. Although the physical examinations ultimately are subjective and dependent upon the opinions of an instructor, tests for advanced belts may include oral and written requirements, according to Dynamic Karate.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit bluegame/iStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Martial Arts Belt Colors

    The colors of order received of belts varies in different martial arts. Black belts are universally recognized as the sign of excellence,...

Related Searches

Check It Out

10 Delicious Game Day Eats That Rival the Game

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!