Is Risotto Gluten-Free?


A creamy rice dish called risotto hails from northern Italy. Risotto is almost always gluten-free, so it is the perfect indulgence if you have a gluten allergy or intolerance.

Cooking Risotto

  • Arborio, vialone nano or carnaroli are the usual risotto rices because they have high quantities of amylopectin -- a starch that makes risotto thick and creamy. For a traditional preparation, chefs toast the rice, then cook it in a liquid such as cream or broth. Although risotto is typically savory, you can also make a decadent chocolate or fruit dessert risotto.

Gluten-Free Dish

  • The safe foods list for individuals with a gluten allergy or intolerance, published by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, includes rice. However, some additions to a risotto dish may be problematic. Sausage is a common risotto ingredient, and many processed meats contain gluten. To avoid a contaminated dish, cook at home and read all your ingredient labels carefully.

Related Searches


  • Photo Credit Tiramisu Art Studio/iStock/Getty Images
Promoted By Zergnet


You May Also Like

  • Is Polenta Gluten-Free?

    Polenta, another name for cooked cornmeal or corn porridge, is naturally gluten-free. The only grains that do naturally contain gluten are wheat,...

  • The History of Risotto

    Risotto is a versatile rice dish with an interesting history. It's nutritious and can be prepared to suit any taste. Known as...

  • How to Make Brown Rice Risotto

    Brown rice risotto offers a healthier twist on the usual white rice recipe since brown rice contains more nutrients than white and...

  • What is Risotto?

    Learn all about risotto recipes with expert cooking tips in this free Italian cooking video.

Related Searches

Check It Out

This Is the Beauty Routine of a Yelp Sales Manager

Is DIY in your DNA? Become part of our maker community.
Submit Your Work!