Polenta, another name for cooked cornmeal or corn porridge, is naturally gluten-free. The only grains that do naturally contain gluten are wheat, rye and barley. Since so many other grains are processed in facilities that also handle wheat, rye and barley, however, some varieties of polenta may become contaminated with trace amounts of gluten.
Check the Label
Some brands of polenta print “gluten-free” directly onto their product labels for easy identification. Others don’t. Although it’s usually safe to assume that 100 percent polenta is made only from cornmeal, water and salt and has no gluten, check the label carefully to scan for allergy information or a statement such as, “Produced in a facility that also handles wheat, rye or barley.” Such a statement doesn’t mean cross-contamination has occurred, but it does increase the likelihood. Finally, if you’re eating a prepared polenta dish rather than something packaged, always ask whether there are any ingredients in your dish that may contain gluten.
- Photo Credit Paolo74s/iStock/Getty Images
Is Risotto Gluten-Free?
A creamy rice dish called risotto hails from northern Italy. Risotto is almost always gluten-free, so it is the perfect indulgence if...
What Is Polenta?
Polenta is one of the basic food staples of Northern Italy. Widely believed that pasta was the main food in Italian cuisine,...
What Is Polenta Flour?
Similar to oatmeal, polenta is a whole grain with origins as an Italian porridge. Made from coarsely ground corn, polenta flour is...
Is Polenta Healthy?
Polenta is simply a type of cornmeal mush, made by slowly cooking a mix of cornmeal and water. The resulting porridge can...
How to Make Cornmeal Polenta
Polenta is a traditional Italian dish similar to porridge, and was originally made with maize meal. The name comes from the Latin...
Comfort Food Recipe For Polenta
How to make polenta; learn more about making comfort food in this free cooking video.